Lost in the Details

This week’s photo challenge on The Daily Post is guest hosted by Christopher Martin.

Lost in the Details: This challenge is about getting lost in the details. Once you’ve found a subject you want to photograph, challenge yourself to work a little further into the scene.

Although I would classify myself as a landscape photographer I do have a tendency to capture images similar to what Christopher Martin talks about in the challenge post. Looking through my old images I see almost a style developing where I will grab a particular subject to focus on and either isolate it or use it as a strong foreground subject with a broader landscape backdrop. It isn’t exactly what is being talked about in the post but it is a focus on details over the bigger picture.

My Playground Nikon D5100, Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4, 1/20s, 38mm, f/16, ISO 200

My Playground
Nikon D5100, Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4, 1/20s, 38mm, f/16, ISO 200

The image above is my playground. It is a view of the Delta Lake dam from down river along the Black River trail. It is where I found some eagles last month and where I spend a lot of time exploring, especially this winter. I generally go looking to capture some grand view of the dam or the spillway area, but lately I have been walking the trail along the river back toward Rome, NY looking for unique winter images. This past weekend I found some images that highlight this weeks challenge and are typical of what I find in my downloads once I get home.

Reflective Contemplation Nikon D5100, Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6, 1/800s, 200mm, f/5.6, ISO 200

Reflective Contemplation
Nikon D5100, Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6, 1/800s, 200mm, f/5.6, ISO 200

I was in between the old water bridge and the metal bridge looking for a different view of the spillway. I was trying to capture an image of the control house through the supports of the old water bridge but I’m not sure if I like any of the views I brought home. I did find this little chunk of ice clinging to a fallen branch. I was mesmerized as the water rose and sank with the current. I got pretty lucky as I managed to capture this image at the water’s low point to really highlight the detail of the ice in the reflection.

Time for Your Close-Up Nikon D5100, Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6, 1/320s, 190mm, f/8, ISO 200

Time for Your Close-Up
Nikon D5100, Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6, 1/320s, 190mm, f/8, ISO 200

As I start walking down river I’m always on the lookout for leaves. If you haven’t guessed by now they are a favorite subject of quite a few of my images. I think it is due to the amount of detail you can find in a leaf as well as their color. In the fall it is the change from green that captivates me, looking for the red, orange, yellow standouts. But I think it is in the monochrome depths of winter with the leaves that refuse to fall I find myself always pointing the camera at them. In this image I used the old water bridge back upstream as a contrasting backdrop for my leaves.

Hangin' Around Nikon D5100, Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6, 1/640s, 200mm, f/8, ISO 200

Hangin’ Around
Nikon D5100, Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6, 1/640s, 200mm, f/8, ISO 200

On my walk back to the car I was able to find a spot along the river which allowed me to capture the ice forming under the water bridge. It is times like these that I wish I had a longer lens or 1.5x converter. I just would have liked to get a little closer to the ice. Anyway, this image does speak to showing the details. I really like the look of the crumbling concrete on the bridge.

One final thought on details. Back in August of last year I posted some images from my May trip to Walt Disney World which I called Disney in the Details. My intent was to highlight the amount of detail Disney incorporates into the parks but quite a few of the images work for this challenge as well.

Check out the comments on the original challenge post to see how others interpret Lost in the Details

6 responses to “Lost in the Details

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost In The Details | Flickr Comments

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost in the Details | Rebecca Barray – Writer/Photographer

Leave a comment