Washed Ashore

I know I am addicted to books. I rarely throw a book away or even give it away. I have been known to loan out a book but if I do I will be after you to get it back to me. When I started down this photography journey I immediately turned to books. I wanted to read about this new joy of mine. To learn as much as I could.

And I don’t just borrow them from the library, I buy them. They become part of my collection. Imagine my joy when after receiving one of David duChemin’s books from my kids for Christmas I discovered his Craft & Vision website. I found the eBooks! Admittedly I went a little nuts. I’m still working my way through reading all the ones I downloaded.

I recently finished Andrew Gibson’s book Slow – The Magic of Long-Exposure Photography. I have known about and even attempted some long exposure images but reading this book really opened my eyes to new possibilities. I’m no reviewer so I will defer to Scott Thomas at Views Infinitum who reviewed this book last November.

Here is another image from my night at Delta Lake which is a result of Gibson’s eBook…

Washed Ashore Nikon D5100, Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4, 5s, 19mm, f/18, ISO 100

Washed Ashore
Nikon D5100, Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4, 5s, 19mm, f/18, ISO 100

And the same image in its original color version…

Washed Ashore - Color Version Nikon D5100, Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4, 5s, 19mm, f/18, ISO 100

Washed Ashore – Color Version
Nikon D5100, Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4, 5s, 19mm, f/18, ISO 100

6 responses to “Washed Ashore

    • I was always intrigued by long exposure but until I read the book I didn’t realize the endless possibilities. With this image I think it was important to have movement in the water (which there was) so the longer exposure could smooth it out without the reflections being mirror perfect.

Leave a comment